Home > American Idol, Recaps, Television > American Idol – The Lizzadies, Take 1

American Idol – The Lizzadies, Take 1

Idol  is back.  I just love the live shows.  The past few weeks, there has been no contest for me between Idol and Lost.  I watch Lost ASAP, and I watch Idol afterward.  But once it’s about the singing and once it’s live, I want  to be live too.  Lost will just have to wait. Here goes…

Paige Miles – “All Right Now”, Bad Company
Despite the fact that the poor thing got virtually no air time prior to this week, she made great impression.  What a strong performance.  Possibly the strongest opening performance I have seen on Idol.   Looking forward to many more.

Ashley Rodriguez– “Happy”,  Leona Lewis
OK.  I still do not understand where these people come from.  How can you come out on your first-go and tackle a Mariah, Whitney, Celine song?  How many times have we been taught our lesson about this.  Now Leona Lewis is not up there with the previous three, but the marketing machine is sure trying to make her so.  Ashley has a great voice, but it was most definitely obscured by the fact that most of the viewing public knows and associates this song with Leona.  I think Ashley deserves to go simply based on the stupid decision.

Janelle Wheeler – “What About Love”, Heart
Great song that I never think about.  Eh performance.  A mere shadow of how amazing she was during Hollywood Week.  Song choice again.  Good song, not for her.  I am going to write a book about song choice.  It will be two pages.  Not that difficult.  What I like though is that she took it so much better than did Ashley Rodriguez, who was pissy and annoyed.  Bad strategy, Ashley.  Good on you, Janelle.

Lilly Scott – “Fix A Hole”, The Beatles
This girl really seems like the real deal.  Amazing talent.  Didn’t love the song and this particular performance that much, but I think she  has such a nuanced voice.  What’s with her  look.  I don’t completely get  it.  Simon doesn’t think she has star power.  Possibly because that terrible hair color makes her look all washed out.  She looks like she has really nice parents.  So why has she been living out of her car?

Katelyn Epperly – “Oh Darlin”, The Beatles
I just loved this performance.  She sung the hell out of that song and made is sexy and sultry and very different from the original.  She definitely deserves to go through.

Haeley Vaughan – “I Wanna Hold Your Hand”
Why is she dressed like a dirty nurse?   I thought her performance was screachy and strident.  I really want to not find her annoying.  Really.  But I can’t.  I fear she is going to become like Paris Bennett to me.  I love Simon Cowell – “You were like a wind-up doll who couldn’t stop smiling throughout the performance.”  He was, as usual, correct.  A mess.

Lacey Brown – “Landslide”, Fleetwood Mac
I just like her personality and her determination.  She took the rejection last year very well, and she approached this year with a lot of maturity and dignity.  I thought the performance was kind of gross, unfortunately.

Michelle Delamor – “Fallin'”, Alicia Keys
Yeah, she’s beautiful.  Totally agree with Kara – she’s very commercial looking.  It’s pretty clear to me that the Idol machine wants her to go far.  I think she’s just OK.  Or at least, she was just OK tonight.  I also agree with Kara that she wasn’t quite believable.

Didi Benami – “The Way I Am” – Ingrid Michaelson
I really liked her.  No artifice.  Just flat-out good singing.  No vocal gymnastics or crazy belting.  Great song choice for her.  Seemed to really fit her.  Fair for Simon to say that too many people are trying to sound like Adele and Duffy, but I think he was a bit hard on her.

Siobhan Magnus – “Wicked Game” – Chris Isaac
Interesting.  Good voice.  Weird to hear that song sung that way.  She reminds me of Anna Paquin for some reason.

Crystal Bowersox – “Hand In My Pocket” – Alanis Morissette
Great performance.  Hard to hear anyone but Alannis sing that song, but she did a good job.  I agree with the judges – she’ll be a lot better.  She was my favorite coming in.  Mama Sox.

Katie Stevens – “Feelin Good” – Michael Buble
Who knew this was Michael Buble’s song?  Um…I guess she’s doing his version?  Idol machine really likes Katie Stevens.  They gave her the power slot.  Good thing I like her too.  Nothing particularly original or interesting about her, but she has a very solid voice.  I thought the performance itself was better than they gave her credit for, but things sound different in person.

My Ranking of Tonight’s Performances:

  1. Paige Miles
  2. Crystal Bowersox
  3. Katelyn Epperly
  4. Lilly Scott
  5. Didi Benami
  6. Katie Stevens
  7. Siobhan Magnus
  8. Michelle Delamor
  9. Janelle Wheeler
  10. Ashley Rodriguez
  11. Lacey Brown
  12. Haeley Vaughan

Who I think should go home: Haeley Vaughan, Ashley Rodriguez

Who I think will go home: Ashley Rodriguez, Lacey Brown (maybe Didi Benami?)

I’m not quite sure why everyone’s touting this year as the women’s year.  The only people I think are really special right now are Paige Miles, Crystal Bowersox, and Lilly Scott.  But there wasn’t anyone even approaching the chills I got on first hearing Fantasia, LaToya London, or even Amy Adams in Season 3, Katharine McPhee, Mandisa, or Paris Bennett in Season 5, or Mindy Doo or Kiki in Season 6.  Am I hearing things wrong?

UPDATED:
Check out the following recaps from folks I like…
MJSBigBlog
Michael Slezak’s EW.com Recap

  1. Mike D
    February 24, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Michael,
    I’m so excited to be your first commenter on your first blog post. Michael, fantastic recap. I look forward to reading your blog (after Idol airs on the West coast). What’s the next show you’re going to blog about?
    Michael

  2. Mike D
    February 24, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Nice favicon too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

