Home > American Idol, Recaps, Television > American Idol Recap – Top 10 Performance Show (plus a little DWTS)

American Idol Recap – Top 10 Performance Show (plus a little DWTS)

I never thought I would say this, but I had to tear myself away from the “Dancing With The Stars Results Show” to watch this week’s “American Idol”, which should speak very clearly to what is wrong with this season of Idol – CASTING.  I am not a big DWTS fan. I usually do not watch it, and when I do, I watch it sparingly and fast-forward through the show.  But this season, the producers put together a great cast that makes the show worth watching.  Idol, on the other hand, cast a bunch of mediocre folks who make the show a chore to watch.

At the time I am switching over to Idol, Buzz Aldrin has been declared SAFE on DWTS, despite his terrible performances.  But this guy WENT TO THE MOON.  Of course, America is voting for him.  Some soap opera dude and Niecy Nash, some very funny woman from Reno 911 who I have never seen before are also safe.  The big shocker so far is that Pamela Anderson, who performed quite well, sexed it up, and got great scores, is in the bottom two.  Guess that says something very clear about how the American public feels about Pamela Anderson!  All this plus a great performance to a Lady Gaga song make me not want to change the channel.  But recap, I must…

THIS is AMERICAN IDOL

Tonight is Soul & R&B.  Should really be my favorite night, based on the music.  We’ll see.  Usher is the guest mentor tonight.  Ah, Usher.  What happened to your last album?  New album is out today, apparently.  I wish you well, Ush.  You were hot on the charts a few years ago, and good for you to plug the album somewhere it can actually make a difference.  Anyway…these lame-o’s are lucky to be meeting someone of your caliber since most of them will go back to obscurity in ten weeks.

Siobhan – “Through the Fire” – Chaka Khan
Ooooh, I love Chaka.  Great song.  I thought she sounded pretty gross, unless she was screaming.  Gross.  Gross.  Gross.  I honestly like her less every week.  Randy thought it was all over the place.  Ellen agreed.  Kara agreed with me on the fact that the screaming was the only good part.  Simon thought it sounded like she was singing while running a marathon.  For some reason we have 10 minutes’ worth of judges’ feedback on Siobhan and we follow her backstage to see her moping.

Casey – “Hold On, I’m Comin'” – Sammy & Dave
This guy really has a good voice, and after Siobhan, he sounded like the second-coming.  But why doesn’t he move while he sings?  Dude needs to get a head mic and move around the stage with his guitar if he’s going to play.  He’s just too stiff.  The judges think he was safe.  I would agree.  But at least he’s enjoyable.  And he makes Ryan look like a midget.

Big Mike – “Ready For Love” – India.Arie
This guy is so big he makes guitar look like a ukelele.  I thought it was a good song choice for him, and he sounded great.  This guy can truly sing, despite the fact that I like him about as much as I liked Mikayla Gordon.  A big part of his game, Mike says, is connecting with the audience.  Well, dude, you haven’t been connecting with me.  But tonight you turned down the cheesiness significantly and you are keeping your ego in check.  Good on you.  I didn’t hate you.

Didi – “What Becomes of the Brokenhearted” – The Temptations
At the risk of sounding like Paula Abdul, Didi looked beautiful tonight.  And wow – I never thought much about the meaning of that song.  She looked like she was tortured throughout the whole thing.  Ellen was right.  It was WAAAAAAAY dramatic.  And Simon thought it was “like swimming in jelly.”  But I still thought it was enjoyable.

****DWTS BREAK****
Back to the DWTS results show for a bit…Beach Boys sing “California Girls” and “Kokomo”, “Fun, Fun, Fun”.  Sadly, the dancing and the guest bongos and guitar by John Stamos far overshadow the vocals.  There does come a time when everyone should retire, guys.  At least you outlasted George Michael.  Next, Evan “I’m not gay” Lysacek is safe, no surprise to anyone.  Following that, Hot Bachelor Jake is safe.  And finally, Nicole Sheherzinger is safe, which is good, since she was clearly the best performer last night.
****DTWS BREAK OVER****

Tim Urban – “Sweet Love” – Anita Baker
Well, this guy was already starting at a disadvantage.  Perhaps one of the very best songs of all-time, originally sung by a master songstress.  And then by Careina Williams of the Opportunes.  I think it would be fair to say that this was the decidedly white version of Sweet Love.  Yup.  Ellen was right – “WHY did you choose that song?”  Kara was right as well – “You took the soul out of that song.”  But Simon was also right.  No matter how bad he is, the audience loves him, and I bet he’ll be back next week.

Andrew – “Forever” – Chris Brown
I don’t know the original, but seems like it was finally a good song choice for Andrew.  I didn’t cringe once during his performance.  Randy agrees – “Andrew is Back! Best performance (for me) for a LOOOONG time.”  I certainly agree with Kara – “That was one GIANT leap in the right direction.”

Katie Stevens – “Chain of Fools” – Aretha
Oh, Katie, Katie.  Forget about Aretha.  How could you try to take on a song Fantasia absolutely OWNED in season 3?  It wasn’t bad.  But certainly no ‘Tasia.  HAHAHA – Simon said EXACTLY what I was thinking – for Randy to compare her to Christina Aguilera was crazy.  I love Simon.

****DWTS BREAK****
Some Haiti tribute to Shakira’s “Hips Don’t Lie”.  I guess it is Wyclef’s song, and dude is Haitian, but kind of a weird choice for a Haiti tribute.  Some news anchor is safe, as is the terrible Chad Ochocinco.  Shockingly, Kate Gosselin is safe.  I think America just wants to see her prove to them that she actually DID have a role in the dissolution of her marriage to that awful John Gosselin.  The blowup between Kate and he partner last night was very revealing.  Sadly, Shannen Doherty is then the first to go home, which along with Buzz’s safety proves how much likability factors into this competition.  She was certainly decent, but has never been America’s sweetheart.  Sorry to see you go, Brenda, but glad that Pamela Anderson and crazy Octo-mom are still in the competition.
****DWTS BREAK OVER***

Lee – “Treat Her Like a Lady” – Cornelius Brothers
This guy looks scared to death and still looks like the doofus who works down the hall in the office.  Dude definitely sounded good.  The judges have obviously decided that they want him in the top two, because they all heap praise on him, including Simon saying “this is the night your life may have changed forever.”  Um…ok.

Mama Sox – “Midnight Train to Georgia” – Gladys Knight
Oh, Crystal.  What a song choice.  Also one of the best songs of all time.  Her big surprise is that she’s playing piano this week, instead of guitar.  Wasn’t my favorite performance of Crystal’s, but she is still most definitely my favorite.  LOVE.  HER.  LOVE HER.  Please fast-forward directly to the finale.

Aaron – “Ain’t No Sunshine” – Bill Withers
Good.  Nothing special.  Good.  Just a’aight for me too, dawg.

My Ranking of Tonight’s Performances:

  1. Mama Sox
  2. Casey
  3. Lee
  4. Big Mike
  5. Aaron
  6. Andrew
  7. Didi
  8. Katie
  9. Siobhan
  10. Tim

Bottom 3 prediction: Tim Urban, Didi Benami, Katie Stevens

Who’s going home: Sadly, and unjustly, Didi Benami

Dear Katie Stevens: Shame on you for not watching the following YouTube video of Fantasia’s performance of “Chain of Fools” in Season Three.  Had you watched it, you would certainly never have even attempted that song:

  1. Mike D
    March 31, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Michael, another excellent recap. Some of your best lines…Big Mike and he is so big he makes guitar look like a ukelele and how Casey does indeed make Ryan look like a midget.
    You did miss a great Simon line…between me and Kara, whose advice should you go with. I maybe a little biased, but I’d go with mine.
    I thought Simon was dead on about Bowersox – did seem like she tried to please a bit – those shoes were definitely not her and the smiling seemed forced.

  2. Mike D
    March 31, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Michael, I love how your mugshot is the favicon of this blog! Nice touch!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

