Home > Uncategorized > American Idol Recap – Top 8 + Big Mike Performance Show

American Idol Recap – Top 8 + Big Mike Performance Show

It’s ELVIS night and Adam Lambert is the mentor.  Look, the guy is talented, but first of all, he didn’t even win his season, and second, he basically ruined his burgeoning career with his Grammy performance.  So I’m not quite sure that he qualifies for mentor.

Mama Sox – “Saved”
Great performance, as usual.  Good to see her with more of an up-tempo song.  I didn’t think there was anything really distinctive about it, but I still love Mama Sox.

Andrew Garcia – “Hound Dog”
I love that Adam Lambert told him he was boring.  This guy really does not deserve to be here if he can’t figure out how to make the song interesting on his own.  Performance was decent.  He definitely has a good voice.  But it was still not interesting.  I want him to go home.  Now.  Please.

Tim Urban – “Can’t Help Falling In Love With You”
Oh, Tim.  I liked the laid-back groove, but that’s about all I liked about that performance.  The judges loved it.  Simon even said he went from zero to hero in two weeks.  I guess that after Andrew Garcia, he sounded great.  And good for him for ensuring he isn’t the Sanjaya of season 9.

Lee Dewyze – “A Little Less Conversation”
One of my favorite Elvis songs.  Not my favorite rendition.  Again, he’s a good singer.  Still don’t know what the fuss is all about.  I think he messed up the words a bunch of times.  Judges think he walks on water.

Aaron Kelly – “Blue Suede Shoes”
First of all, whoever styles this guy needs to be fired.  He looks terrible every week.  He wasn’t bad.  But he struck me as more high school performance of Conrad Birdie in “Bye Bye Birdie” than Elvis.

Siobhan Magnus – “Suspicious Minds”
Finally.  I thought this was her best performance in ages.  But the judges disagreed vociferously.  Perhaps things really do just sound different in the studio.  They were confused about what kind of a singer she is.  Good for her for saying that she can’t even label herself, so why should they label her.  Not sure that strategy’s going to work, but good for her.

Big Mike – “In The Ghetto”
Well, his outro mugging for the camera shows us that he didn’t seem to be humbled any by his scrape with the bottom last week.  They are all glad they saved him.  I’m not.

Katie Stevens – “Baby, Whatcha Want Me To Do?”
I thought she gave a pretty good performance, and I like her so much better than I did three weeks ago.

Casey James – “Lawdy Miss Clawdy”
Agree with Randy, actually.  Nothing really different this week, but it was a solid performance.

My Ranking of Tonight’s Performances:

  1. Mama Sox
  2. Lee Dewyze
  3. Casey James
  4. Tim Urban
  5. Siobhan Magnus
  6. Katie Stevens
  7. Big Mike
  8. Aaron Kelly
  9. Andrew Garcia

Bottom Three Prediction:
Big Mike, Aaron Kelly, Andrew Garcia.  Aaron and Andrew had the worst performances of the night.  As far as Big Mike goes, there’s a reason he was at the bottom last week – America doesn’t like him.  As far as who goes home, the only one I’ll put my money on is Andrew.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

