Home > Uncategorized > American Idol Top 7 Recap – Performance Show

American Idol Top 7 Recap – Performance Show

Tonight I have a very special treat for all you readers out there.  Mike D is sitting next to me and will be guest blogging this evening.  I’m not quite sure how this is going to work, and he’s already giving me tons of crap as usual, but let’s see how this goes.  I’m not sure that he hates Big Mike as much as I do, but hopefully this will be entertaining nonetheless.

Michael Derezin has goosebumps about blogging.  He wants to know if Ryan is on drugs.  Michael, haven’t you heard that he was just tired this week?  It has been all over the news, including The Today Show this morning.

The top seven enter, with Big Mike as the focal point.  PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE send him home tomorrow night.  Oooh – Alicia Keys is the mentor.  I love her.  Simmons thinks she doesn’t like men – do you?  Regardless, she is more qualified than Glambert.  Tonight’s theme is songs of inspiration.

Casey – “Don’t Stop” – Fleetwood Mac
Michael Wertheim’s Take: Tough to listen to this song without thinking about Bill Clinton.  Good performance.  Randy’s totally right – every week we see the same thing, as is Ellen.  He’s consistently good, but he needs to be great.
Michael Derezin’s Take: Goofy smile, forced.  Looks like he went to a tanning salon.  I still wonder why Bill settled for Monica.  Couldn’t he have done any better?  Not very good.  Didn’t have his moment.  Does anyone else notice the zit in the middle of Kara’s forehead?  I am having a difficult time concentrating.

Lee – “The Boxer” – Simon & Garfunkel
MW’s Take: Again, Lee De-Why?  Not hating him tonight.  Though he sounds awful on the high notes.  Of course, the judges love him.  Ellen sees so much soul and depth.  Kara thinks he had his moment tonight.  Simon has a man-crush.  I am still scratching my head.  Please, someone, tell me what I’m missing.
MD’s Take: He looks like a deer in the headlights.  Is he going to get laid after this show?  Is this song by Jackson Browne?  Lee’s got some nasty tats.  He’s going to crush this one.  Great song choice.  He’s getting laid tonight.  Is he crying?  He’s crying.  Told you, I nailed it.

Turban – “Better Days” – Goo Goo Dolls
MW’s Take:  I can’t get my cousin Brett out of my head every time I watch him, for some reason.  I think it’s because Brett also had that Zac Efron haircut at some point.  Not bad.  This kid has really turned himself around.  Nothing special though.  Ellen calls him the soup of the day.  She wasn’t into it today.  I just noticed Kara’s pimple, by the way.  Simon gives him some credit, but says it was a little bit of a let-down.
MD’s Take:  What does it matter what I say?  The teeny-boppers are going to vote for this guy.  He’s doing ok.  I think he’ll hold up here.  I still wish Carol Brady were here instead of him.  The guy is boring, so my comments are boring.

Aaron Kelly – “I Believe I Can Fly” – R. Kelly
MW’s Take: Oy, this kid is still in the competition?  I thought Turban would definitely go this week, but I forgot about the ugly, less-talented David Archuletta.  I still don’t know who’s dressing this guy.  I mean, he was fine, but I’m not sure why anyone would CHOOSE to listen to him.  The judges are much kinder to him than they were to Tim Urban.  Not quite sure why.
MD’s Take: The 16-year-old’s gotta go.  What’s up with that lame black bracelet he wears.  Anyone else out there think that bracelet is lame?  That’s a horrible vest he has on.  What’s up with that outfit?

During the commercial for Glee, Mike Derezin waxes sentimental: “I would like to give a shout-out to my wonderful wife, Lisa, who loves Glee, and has borne me two beautiful children, Sage and Mia-Tia.”  Shout out from me too, Lisa.  You are truly a trooper.  Truly.

Siobhan – “When You Believe” – Whitney & Mariah
MW’s Take: Wow.  She’s taking on not one, but TWO big diva’s.  She has the voice.  Let’s just hope it’s good.  Alicia thinks she’s doing things most people can’t do.  Wow.  That outfit.  I actually liked her performance.  I don’t think it was transcendant, but I think she did the song justice as most would not.  It was just ok with Randy.  Ellen disagreed.  Kara doesn’t know who she is.  The leaves distracted Simon on the close-ups.
MD’s Take: She’s boring me now.  Always the same schtick.  She looks like some kind of garden fairy.  When is the screaming going to happen?  I love how she always tries to get tough at the end, saying she’s an individual and doesn’t want to get pigeonholed.

Big Mike – “Hero” – Nickleback
MW’s Take: Apparently, he started putting a playbook together years ago of songs he would sing were he ever on Idol.  I hate that he’s actually talented.  Dude could seriously be a contender if he didn’t love himself so much.  Not bad at all, but not “sensational” like last week.
MD’s Take: Is that a Member’s Only jacket?  He’s so yoked, he must use TravelFit.  How many necks does he have?  I have nothing else appropriate to say.

MAMA SOX – “People Get Ready” – The Impressions
MW’s Take: I just LOVE LOVE LOVE this woman.  I am thrilled that she started a cappella.  Wow.  For me, this was a truly breakout performance for her.  I wish she hadn’t broken down at the end, but I think that was truly, truly unbelievable.  Agree with Simon – that was inspirational.
MD’s Take: When is the last time she washed her hair?  She really needs to plug those gaps in her teeth.  Am I going to look like a d**k when this is published?  Can we play that again, Michael?  She looks like a linebacker from the back.

MW’s Ranking of Tonight’s Performances

  1. MAMA SOX
  2. Casey
  3. Lee
  4. Siobhan
  5. Turban
  6. Big Mike
  7. Aaron Kelly

MD’s Ranking of Tonight’s Performances

  1. MAMA SOX
  2. Lee
  3. Casey
  4. Siobhan
  5. BIG MIKE
  6. Turban
  7. Aaron Kelly

Who Will Be In The Bottom Three:
MD: Aaron Kelly, Turban, and Big Mike, with Aaron Kelly going home.
MW: I have to say, Derezin hit the nail on the head.  I agree 100%, except that I could see Siobhan entering the bottom 3 instead of Big Mike, much as I would disagree with that vote.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Lisa Derezin
    April 20, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    Thanks for the shout out & love Mikey! Love both you Michaels. Haven’t seen the show yet, still putting those two beauties to bed!

  2. the Jacobs Family
    April 21, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    The Jacobs Family is impressed that both Michaels rated Casey as high as you did. Just because someone sounds the same each week should not count against that person if the performance is good. Casey nailed that song albeit using a style similar to his prior performances.

  3. Brigitte Mansourian
    April 21, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Hey MD–next time you guest–how about a shout out to your favorite cousin in law? Remember, I could ruin the whole show for you:-)

    I agree with all your comments though. We are so simpatico in reality tv world.

    xo-B

  4. Ryan Frick
    April 21, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    Wertheim, check out the clips from the songs at the end where they show the phone #s for each person (it was after the hour ended so would be during Glee if you have them both DVR’d). It has MamaSox holding it together for the last bar, when we all saw her completely break down. CLEARLY they used a clip from the rehearsal! Producers in full effect! Does make me wonder how much of the show is actually real though.

    • Michael Wertheim
      April 22, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      I know! That has been a big issue for a few years now. They use the rehearsal performances for the recaps at the end of the show. No one is sure why, in the age of instant replay. Hope you guys are well! We’re all crazy for watching this terrible season.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

