Home > American Idol, Recaps, Television > American Idol Recap – Top 6 Performance Show

American Idol Recap – Top 6 Performance Show

Well, we’re down to six.  And tonight is the music of Shania Twain.  I am cautiously pessimistic.  I mean, Shania’s great and all, but what are we going to be treated to?  Big Mike singing “Man, I Feel Like a Woman”?

Lee Dewyze – “You’re Still The One”
I know what’s going on here.  I’m being punked.  For sure.  Who the hell is this guy?  Is he really a front-runner?  If this guy wins, what he is winning is the prize for biggest dumb schmuck to ever make it big.  This is not a rhetorical question – please please please – someone tell me why the judges like this guy so much.

Big Mike – “It Only Hurts When I’m Breathing”
I hate this guy, yes.  But you know, there isn’t any denying that he’s got a great voice.  And if I’m going to be completely honest, I think he deserves the crown 100 times more than Lee Dewyze.  I still think you’re an arrogant prick, Mike, but I liked your performance tonight, and you’re no longer the #1 contestant in my cross hairs.

Casey James – “Don’t”
Not sure how this guy gets more attractive each week, but he does.  He’s right.  He did show another side of him tonight.  It was actually an emotional performance that showed he can connect with audiences.  I agree with the judges.  His best performance so far.

Mama Sox – “No One Needs To Know”
Oh, Mama Sox.  You know you have my vote no matter what you do.  But definitely my least favorite performance by you so far by a long shot.  I mean, what was that?  And what were you wearing?  The judges agreed with me.  But I just love this woman.  She is so real and feels no need to apologize and at this point I think she knows that she’s going to have the career she wants even if she doesn’t win – and perhaps more so if she doesn’t win.

Aaron Kelly – “You Got A Way”
Wait – this guy is still here?  Really?  Make it stop.  Please.

Siobhan Magnus – “Any Man of Mine”
If I’m not mistaken, this was the song that sealed Mandisa’s fate in Season 6.  And it could possibly do the same for Siobhan.  She ended strong – she’s in her element when she’s belting.  But the rest was eh.  I didn’t like her nearly as much as the judges did.  I actually think Mandisa’s version was better.

My Ranking of Tonight’s Performances:

  1. Casey James
  2. Big Mike
  3. Lee Dewyze
  4. Mama Sox
  5. Siobhan Magnus
  6. Aaron Kelly

Who’s Going Home:

I don’t see how Aaron Kelly could not be in the bottom three.  Who he will be joined by is a tougher question to answer.  Casey and Lee will be safe.  And all rational thought tells me that Crystal will as well, despite a clearly weak performance.  So that would leave Big Mike and Siobhan in the bottom with Aaron.

Since I have been proven wrong again and again about Aaron, my guess on this week’s departure is going to be Siobhan.  I think she’s just too weird, and is unfortunately just not amazing enough to compensate.

What a waste of time this season has been.  Bad year to start blogging.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

