Home > American Idol, Television > American Idol – Top 24 – The Boys

American Idol – Top 24 – The Boys

Wow.  Big change.  We’re not whittling down week by week.  Instead, we only have one week before the final 13.  The top 5 boys and the top five girls go through to the finals immediately.  Then the judges select 3 from the rest of the group to go through.

Overall, a decent night, though not as mind-blowing as I hoped it would be.  My favorite moved from Jacob to Casey.  Scotty McCreery showed that he isn’t a one-trick-pony (as quoted from me by Joanne Clain).  And Paul McDonald annoyed more than Clint Jun Gamboa, though will also dramatically outlast him.

And with that, on to the performances…

Clint Jun Gamboa – “Superstitious” by Stevie Wonder – Bye Bye, Clint Jun Gamboa.  Way overshadowed by the band.  Good voice, but it didn’t shine through.  The judges heard more than I did.  But I don’t think it was unique or memorable enough to pass him through.

Jovany Barreto – “I’ll Be” by Edwin McCain – I think the band is just too loud in general tonight.  Solid, but I think as Randy said it WAS a little Karaoke.  But he’s a lot more likable and more attractive than Clint Jun Gamboa.

Jordan Dorsey – “Oh My Gosh” by Usher – Goodbye to you too, Jordan.  WTF?  Why would you sing this song?  Cringing the entire time.  You are not Usher, Jordan Dorsey.  And you then say this isn’t actually who you are.  So WHY did you sing it?  WHY?  WHY?  WHY?  What a bad choice, Jordan Dorsey.

Tim Halperin – “Streetcorner Symphony” by Rob Thomas – Very blah.  Very, very blah.  And he needed to not be blah.  Because he gives off a blah vibe.

Brett Loewenstern – “Light My Fire” by The Doors – Totally bizarre.  Which is not actually that bad.  Couldn’t be more different from Jim Morrison.  Dude can sing.  We’ll see if he resonates with America.  If Twitter is any indication, he will.

James Durbin – “You’ve Got Another Thing Coming” – Judas Priest – Guy is the real deal.  He sounded great.  The Twitterverse somehow thinks he is Adam Lambert – Part Deux.  I couldn’t disagree more.  Firstly, he isn’t hiding the fact that he is a flaming queen.  He’s ACTUALLY a rocker.  Good for him.  And the only person hurling obscenities during his performance was Steven Tyler.

Robbie Rosen – “Angel” – Sarah McLachlan – First of all, one of my favorite songs.  Second, not a good version at all.  And Robbie – it needed to be good enough to make me (and more importantly, America) forget about your nose.  And it just wasn’t.  You are better than that, man.  The judges liked him more than I did.  Well, except for Randy.  Randy was right tonight.  Go dogg.

Scotty McCreery – “Letters From Home”- John Michael Montgomery – Guy sounded amazing.  And he had a cross around his neck.  He will be a huge country star.  And he will most definitely make it through.

Stefano Langone – “Just The Way You Are” – Bruno Mars – Not sure why he chose such a popular current song.  He can sing.  But not as good as the original.  Still, he will make it through, based on his looks, solid voice, and his story.

Paul McDonald – “Maggie Mae” – Rod Stewart – OK.  This dude will totally make it through.  People love him and his different voice.  I, on the other hand, hate it.  Sounds like Bob Dylan to me.  He will make it far tho.

Jacob Lusk – “A House is not a Home” – Luther Vandross – Oh, Jacob Lusk.  What have you done to my dreams of Fantasia 2?  First, you come out with a pair of diamond earrings on.  Then you sing a terrible arrangement of an amazing song that was done way better by Elliot Yamin.  Jacob has been way better than this.  I just think he may not make it very far.  He may be too queeny.  But he’s still good and incredibly talented.  The judges loved him.

Casey Abrams – “I Put A Spell On You” – Screaming Jay – Great song choice.  A little too much screaming, especially because he is SO TALENTED.  But he has so much character and is an amazing performer.  He’s now my top pick.

My Ranking of Tonight’s Performances:

  1. Casey Abrams
  2. Scotty McCreery
  3. James Durbin
  4. Jacob Lusk
  5. Paul McDonald
  6. Brett Loewenstern
  7. Stefano Langone
  8. Jovany Barreto
  9. Robbie Rosen
  10. Clint Jun Gamboa
  11. Tim Halperin
  12. Jordan Dorsey

Guys who will be voted into the top 5:

  1. Casey
  2. Scotty
  3. James
  4. Jacob
  5. Paul

Although Brett could slip through…

Guys who the judges are likely to save:

  • Stefano
  • Brett
  • Tim

Definitely gone:

  • Jordan
  • Jovany
  • Clint

Random Thought:

Anyone notice how Randy somehow feels the need to show that he knows the name and artist of every song?

Categories: American Idol, Television
  1. Mike D
    March 2, 2011 at 1:18 am

    Michael, I agree with your top five. Casey is on fuego – even Jlo thought he was sexy. Reminds me of a mini Will Farrell. I also think James Durban crushed it. Loved the Judas. Add Jacob and that’s the top 3.
    Why do you hate MacDonald so much? He’s less goofy than Brett. I think Simon would have been good to tonight – Steven and Jlo only have positive things to say.

  2. benjamin n
    March 2, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Okay Michael here we go again. Last two years I’ve been right on, on who was going to win and bet Lee Dewyze at 41 to 1 odds and Kris Aleen at 75 to 1 odds. So I did a lot of research before last night’s performance. Below are my pick’s and odds for the win.

    Haley Rienhart 29 to 1. I took her because she has great odds on all betting sites. Pinnacle had her as high as 40 to 1. With her soulful voice and the ability to get gravely when she wants, she is like Christina Aguilara (White girl with soul) minus the recent arrest, falling off the stage at the Grammys and screwing up the national anthem at the superbowl.

    Robbie Rosen 19 to 1. Thought he could be better than he was. He needed to bring a more Neil Diamond / Paul Simon sound to his performance and really sounded poor. He should be gone. He may be saved by the judges.

    Rachel Zevita 51 to 1. With minimal exposure so far on pre-24 shows I just couldn’t stay away from a payout this big. Very small chance she will win. But 51 to 1 is like Lee last year. This is my long shot. Who knows if she brings it and grows tonight.

    Casey Abrams 10 to 1. His odds dropped to 8 to 1 before last night and will probably get down to 3 to 1 as the favorite by fri. He’s the total package. Likable, great passion, great voice, Versatile with piano, melodica, guitar, bass. Humble and sympathetic (was sick last week).

    Julie Zorrilla 8.5 to 1. The front runner in the ladies category. Odds aren’t great since I’m worried she will come out weak ala Katie Stevens last year who was at 7 to 1 going into round one. Small bet on her is worth at least exploring.

    Pia Toscana 13 to 1. This is the anti Julie bet. Pia and Julie will divide the vote and the stronger will make it through. at 13 to 1 Pia is a better bet. These two come down to song selection.

    Tim Halperin 11 to 1. This seemed like a good bet at the time, although I would have preferred for this category Clint Dixon who was voted out on the Green Mile walk with Jaycee. He was not good last night and I’m disappointed in what he brought. He needs a keyboard in front of him and needs to choose Coldplay, Keane, One Republic type songs. I hope they save him.

    Brett Loewnstern 41 to 1. Again great odds, can’t pass up. He has a good voice. He fills the “poor kid” category which Vote for the Worst always loves to push. If he was less weak in his regular disposition and seemed cooler he could play off a Robert Plant persona. But I’m afraid that won’t happen. Still good odds. but really a long shot.

    Paul Mcdonald 9 to 1. After showing nearly nothing of him throughout the early shows I caught his only clip of Maggie May and did more research. I was impressed and felt this would be a sleeper. Unfortunately the Green Mile episode let the cat out of the bag and the odds came in at a measly 9 to 1. He is unique and has a good chance based on song choice and performance.

    Scott McCreery 11 to 1. My thoughts after last night is this guy is a pro. To win he needs to come out and pick songs that are not country but put a country spin on them. With his voice he doesn’t have to try hard to make his songs sound fresh. The more pop the song the better the choice.

    These are my bets. I avoided The poor man’s Adam Lambert as a one trick pony. As well as Jacob Lusk as a boring elevator music sound. Outside of those two I can’t see anyone else being in the coveted top 5 where anything can happen.

  3. Michael Wertheim
    March 2, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    All makes sense to me, Benjy, except for Brett/Rachel (no chance of winning the whole thing) and Jacob/James (they will go far).

  4. April 11, 2013 at 12:18 am

    Admiring the hard work you put into your website and in depth information you provide.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    old rehashed information. Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m
    adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  5. May 8, 2013 at 4:02 am

    Every weekend i used to visit this site, as i want enjoyment, for the reason that this this web page conations truly nice funny material too.

  6. May 26, 2013 at 11:09 pm

    Doh! I was domain searching at namecheap.com and went
    to type in the domain name: http://michaelwertheim.wordpress.

    com/2011/03/01/american-idol-top-24-the-boys/ and guess who already purchased it?
    You did! haha j/k. I was about to buy this domain
    name but noticed it had been taken so I figured I’d come check it out. Awesome blog!

  7. July 16, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can’t find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly permit me know so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

