Home > American Idol, Recaps, Television > American Idol Recap – Top 12 Performances

American Idol Recap – Top 12 Performances

This week’s theme: Songs from the year the contestants were born.  I can still deal, I guess.  I may freak out when those years start entering the 21st century.  Solid night overall.

Naima – 1984 – “What’s Love Got To Do With It” by Tina Turner – Interesting version.  Definitely different than the original and seemed very contemporary.  Very different for Idol.   Jennifer points out that she was pitchy.  She was right.

Paul – 1984 – “I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues” by Elton John – Wow.  This guy really has white teeth.  What else am I supposed to say about Paul?  Every performance is the same for me.  Paul fans will love it.  And Jennifer is clearly a Paul fan.  And Steven said he defines “a cool dude with a loose mood.”

Thia – 1995 – “Colors of the Wind” by Vanessa Williams from Mulan – Um…she was born the year I graduated from college.  Seriously?  I’m not that old.  I thought she was solid.  I liked it a lot better than “Out Here On My Own.”  But it was boring and tepid.  The judges keep talking about some tone we haven’t heard yet.  What are you saving it for, Thia?

James – 1989 – “I’ll Be There For You” by Bon Jovi – The more I see this guy talk, the more I like him.  I love how comfortable he is on stage.  It is really impressive.  He definitely had a few flat notes, and I don’t think there was anything particularly impressive about this performance versus the other ones.  But he is talented and likeable.

Haley – 1990 – “I’m Your Baby Tonight” by Whit-nay – One of my favorite Whitney songs.  Uh-oh.  I thought she would be good.  I think this could very likely be her swan song.  For some reason, it just DID NOT work with her voice.  Uh-oh again.  Jennifer started out by saying how beautiful she looks.

Stefano – 1989 – “If You Don’t Know Me By Now” by Simply Red – Cute + Solid.  Pretty much every week.  For some reason, he reminds me of Justin Bieber.  Perhaps next week we get “Baby Baby Baby”?  But please shave the flavor savor…

Pia – 1988 – “Where Do Broken Hearts Go?” by Whitney Houston – LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE PIA!  Not only did she sound amazing, she was also smart enough to turn it into an upbeat song.  Damn.  Head and shoulders the best.

Scotty – 1993 – “Can I Trust You With My Heart” by Travis Tritt – This dude is going to make me start listening to country music.  He is going to be as big as Carrie Underwood.

Karen – 1989 – “Love Will Lead You Back” by Taylor Dane – Oh, boy.  She sure wants to be JLo.  All glammed up with different looks every week.  Randy is right.  Started rough, but ended well.  I also agree with Randy when he said he’s not jumping up and down.

Casey – 1991 – “Smells Like Teen Spirit” by Nirvana – OK.  I am frightened.  Psycho Casey tonight.  How far Idol has come.  Who would have ever imagined a performance like that back in Season 1.  Steven is right – dude is crazy AND talented.  JLo is also right – parts of it definitely got too screamy/screechy.

Lauren – 1994 – “The Only One” by Melissa Etheridge – Despite the fact that she is sick, I think she was better than last week.  I bet she would have been astounding had she not been sick.  Wasn’t the best of the night for me, but I still love Lauren.

Jacob – 1987 – “Alone” by Heart – Alright.  Jacob is finally back.  No question he has the most powerful voice.  Tonight, he reminded me of ‘Tasia again.  I just wish his performance style was a little less flamboyant.  I think it takes away from his voice.  And I don’t think America is going to reward him for it.

My Ranking of Tonight’s Performances

  1. Pia
  2. Jacob
  3. Scotty
  4. Lauren
  5. Casey
  6. Stefano
  7. James
  8. Karen
  9. Naima
  10. Thia
  11. Paul
  12. Haley

Who’s Going Home

This one seems like the clearest-cut decision I have seen in awhile.  If Haley doesn’t go home, I will be shocked.  Joining Haley in the bottom three will be Thia and Naima – though Karen could slip in again.

Random Thought

Someone really needs to put a reel together of clips of Randy talking about himself, all the people he has worked with, and all of his experiences.  And play it for him.  Repeatedly.

The Other Show on Wednesday Nights

On an unrelated note, I hope some of you are watching Survivor.  It’s great this season, as always.  How about Phillip and his pink panties?  What a great character.  He’ll definitely go down in the annals as a Survivor all-star.

Wertheim out.

  1. Susan Sutton
    March 17, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    Just finished watching idol with your blog in one hand and the ff button in the other! The best way to watch! Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

