Home > American Idol, Recaps, Television > American Idol Recap – Top 8 Performances

American Idol Recap – Top 8 Performances

Our first post-Pia show, which opens with a recap of the horrific elimination last week.  And quickly, we’re off to a celebration of JLo for her honor as People’s “Most Beautiful Woman In The World” this year.  She really is beautiful.  Boy, if it wasn’t clear before, it is certainly clear now that this year’s big winner is clearly JLo.  They really didn’t need to pay her anything to do this show, did they?  I have to say once again, I think she is just magical.

It’s movie night on Idol (again, we seem to be tracking the themes from Season 3).  And once again, will.i.am joins Jimmy Iovine in the coaching sessions.  Bizarre, but entertaining.

Paul – “Old Time Rock And Roll” by Rod Seeger from Risky Business.  Oh, boy.  I think this could be Paul’s week to go.  The original is just so rocking.  Paul sounded like a pixie and just bounced all over the stage in one of the loudest suits I have ever seen.  Of course, the judges had nothing negative whatsoever to say.  In my book, it’s really time to say “ta-ta, Paul.”

Lauren – “The Climb” by Miley Cyrus from The Hannah Montana Movie.  This is truly a stretch for a “movie song”.  Jimmy makes a good point to Lauren that this is her chance to get Pia’s votes and compliments her that she’s got a much stronger voice than does Miley.  And they are right.  Great choice for Lauren.  It’s age-appropriate, it’s epic, and she sounded great.  I got a little of that feeling I got when Jordin sang “Broken Wing” in Season 6 and she moved from dark horse to front-runner.  Check it out:

Alright, so she’s no Jordin Sparks.  But I think tonight may have had a similar effect for Lauren.

Stefano – “End Of The Road” by Boyz2Men from Boomerang.  Well, you can give Stefano props for one thing.  He does show us every week what kind of an artist he is.  He’s a cheeseball.  No hiding from that.  Good choice of song on that part.  Bad choice in terms of song title.  He certainly did sing the hell out of it though.  No Boyz2Men, but no Paul McDonald either.  He was singing for his life.

Scotty – “I Cross My Heart” by George Strait from Pure Country.  I think Jimmy was right – not the best song for him to choose.  But I’m going to stick by my prediction last week that Scotty will win this whole thing.  He’s just so darned likable.  Randy is right.  A star is born.

Casey – “Nature Boy” by Nat King Cole from Moulin Rouge.  Wow.  He’s GROOMED.  Hair is styled and beard is even thinner.  I loved the choice of song and I loved the performance (as did the audience and the judges).  But Casey, dude, stop GROWLING.  Tonight I also think I put my finger on another reason Casey has trouble – because he doesn’t tell a story as he sings the song.  He doesn’t express the emotions in the song while he sings.  He just growls.  Still, it’s the kind of performance I personally enjoy.

Haley – “Call Me” by Blondie from American Gigolo.  Rocking is certainly what Haley should be doing.  Not as good as the last two weeks, but still good.  I really like her now and I like her voice, but I don’t like her performance style.

Jacob – “Bridge Over Troubled Waters” by Simon and Garfunkel from The Pursuit of Happyness.  WOO-HOOOOOO!!!  Jimmy called him out for preaching to America last week.  Glad someone said it.  With that out of the way, GREAT song choice.  And I liked Jacob for the first time in weeks.  Actually, I loved Jacob for the first time in weeks.  He gave me chills.  Understated and beautiful.  100 times better than last week.  Thanks as well for showing some humility.

James – “Heavy Metal” by Sammy Hagar from Heavy Metal.  James flouts Jimmy and will.i.am’s advice and decided to “give metal a chance.”  This time, I think Jimmy and will.i.am were right.  Not only do I not want to hear heavy metal, but I also don’t need to hear a long guitar solo during a singing competition.  Despite my not liking the song at all and now being sure that I will never listen to any of James’ records, I still do love James and think he has a stupendous voice.  Not sure if he made the smartest move tonight, but good on him for doing what he wanted to do.

My Ranking Of Tonight’s Performances

  1. Jacob
  2. Casey
  3. Lauren
  4. Scotty
  5. James
  6. Stefano
  7. Haley
  8. Paul

Who Should Be Going Home

After last week, I don’t think I can ever again say who WILL be going home.  But this week seems pretty clear to me about who SHOULD go home.  Stefano, Haley, and Paul should be in the bottom three with Paul going home.  If America really can’t open their minds, either James or Casey could end up in the bottom three instead of Stefano.  Really, America – if you’re listening – let’s please put Paul out to pasture already.

A Note About Pia

If anyone doesn’t know this already, Pia was signed to a record deal with Interscope the day after she was voted out, so we really shouldn’t feel too bad for her.  She’ll have more freedom to do what she wants without having been the winner or the runner-up, and will likely have her album out before either of the top two will.  And although I would have loved to have continued to see her perform, tonight was just another reminder of the fact that this is really one of the most talented (if not the top) seasons of Idol ever.  It was difficult to truly miss Pia when faced with such great remaining performers.

Wertheim out.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

