Home > American Idol, Recaps, Uncategorized > American Idol Recap – Top 24 (25) – The Results

American Idol Recap – Top 24 (25) – The Results

Two hours of American Idol starts…NOW.  Jimmy Iovine is back tonight and finally tells it like it is.  He’s playing the Simon role now.

Chase, Phillip, and Jeremy take the stage.  Jimmy is not a Jeremy fan, and I feel a bit vindicated (sorry Lisa!).  Jimmy REALLY is not a Chase fan.  Jimmy LOOOOOOVES Phil Phillip tho.  And I am losing my shame about loving him too.

Jeremy – NOT in the top 10
Chase – NOT in the top 10
Phillip – SAFE!

Jessica, Hollie, Brielle, and Hallie are the first of the girls.  Jimmy thinks Hollie “could do some real damage in this game.”  Jimmy thinks Brielle has a lot of charisma but had a bad song choice.  Jimmy likes Hallie, but isn’t convinced America did.  Jimmy wants to sign Jessica on the spot tonight.

Brielle – NOT in the top 10
Hallie – NOT in the top 10
Jessica – SAFE!
Hollie – SAFE!

Joshua, Heejun, and Adam are up next.  Jimmy thinks “this Joshua is the real deal,” but wants to make sure Mantasia doesn’t turn it into Sister Act 3.  Jimmy thinks White Chocolate needs to integrate his multiple personalities.  Ha!  Heejun completely confuses Jimmy, but astutely points out “this isn’t American Comedian, it’s American Idol.”  Dude is funny, actually.  I hope he doesn’t make it through, because I bet he has a career in comedy.

Joshua – SAFE
Heejun – SAFE
White Chocolate – NOT in the top 10

Skylar, Baylie, Chelsea, Shannon.  Jimmy thinks Skylar blends soul with country.  Jimmy thinks Baylie had all the pieces but that they didn’t come together – “outta tune, outta here!”  As for Chelsea, Jimmy thinks Carrie Underwood karaoke just isn’t going to fly.  Jimmy likes Shannon, but thinks she needs help in the styling area.  Oh boy I can’t stand Shannon.  Please stop crying and pandering to the audience.  Good for Baylie.  She says if she had it all to do over again, she would have “sang on key.”

Shannon – SAFE
Skylar – SAFE
Baylie – NOT in the top 10
Chelsea – NOT in the top 10

Aaron, Creighton, and Reed are the second-to-last group of boys.  Jimmy likes Reed, but thinks he is way too Cabaret and never gonna make it.  Aaron confused Jimmy – he thought Aaron was just cheesy.  Jimmy felt like I did about Creighton – top end of his voice was screechy.  Didn’t like him.

Aaron – NOT in the top 10
Creighton – NOT in the top 10
Reed – NOT in the top 10

Damn.  That hurt.  Them, not me really.

Elise, Erica, Hayley, and Jen are the second to last group of ladies.  Jimmy thinks Jen has a great voice but adds wisely that folks need to stay away from Adele.  Jimmy likes Erica as much as I do.  He thinks she can go all the way.  Please please please be safe.  As far as Hayley goes, Jimmy was deservingly harsh.  “She sang out of tune the whole time,” he says.  “I can get around that.  What I can’t get around is robotic mimicking.”  Jimmy likes Elise as much as the judges and I do.  Hayley says she has no regrets and that she performed to her best ability.  Oh, keep quiet Hayley.  This is your swan song.

Hayley – NOT in the top 10
Erica – NOT in the top 10.  DAMN.
Elise – SAFE
Jen – NOT in the top 10

The final group of guys are Deandre, Eben, Colton, and Jermaine.  Could it really go the way it should, with Eben and Jermaine going home?  I can’t believe it is going to be that easy.  Jermaine has his awful white pants on again!  Eben’s girlfriend is in the house.  Jimmy is so glad the judges brought Jermaine back – wow.  I guess that shouldn’t be too much of a surprise since they brought him back.  Jimmy thinks Deandre needs a coach and is not ready yet.  Jimmy too nicely says that Eben is not ready for prime time.  Jimmy thinks Colton is one of the most talented kids in this show.

Deandre – NOT in the top 10
Colton – SAFE
Jermaine – SAFE
Eben – NOT in the top 10

Now 15 folks are eligible for 3 wild card slots.  The judges pick 6 to sing for their lives.  And they are…

Jen Hirsch – “Oh Darlin'” by The Beatles
I’m not sure she did herself any favors with that performance.  She was strident and pushing way too hard.  It just seemed to me like a repeat of last night’s performance.  The judges are nice, but measured.

Jeremy Rosado – “I Know You Won’t” by Carrie Underwood
Guy has some pipes and he tugs on the heartstrings.  But I am not feeling it.  Still.  JLo is just going to lose it.  They all love the person he is.  He seems like a lovely guy.  And Heejun is a funny guy.

Brielle Von Hugel – “Someone Like You” by Adele
What a wasted choice by the judges.  How could she choose Adele?  And pale in comparison.  I want her to go home simply because I cannot bear seeing her mother for the rest of the season.  Steven shockingly said he just wasn’t hearing it.  Randy said it wasn’t great.  JLo said she should be proud.  Again, a waste.

Deandre Brackensick – “Georgia On My Mind” by Ray Charles
I hope he just becomes Deandre, because I cannot keep writing that last name all season.  Now he should have sung this last night.  Much better when it’s not all falsetto.  Please use that sparingly, Deandre.  I still find him a bit cheesy, but I think he had the best sing-for-your-life performance.

Erica Van Pelt – “Edge of Glory” by Lady Gaga
I LOVE HER VOICE.  I love how she performs.  PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PICK ERICA.  It sounds like they’re going to.  Whew.

Reed Grimm – “Use Me” by Bill Withers
As I figured.  Creighton wasn’t going to win in the quirky duel with Reed.  Sad for him.  This guy really is a good musician, but also a total freakazoid.  The judges say a lot of nice things that sound like a kiss-off.

Now “each judge will pick one contestant to stay in the competition.”  I find it hard to believe that each will not be a group decision.  And they are…

Randy picks…Erica Van Pelt.  YES!

Jennifer picks…Jeremy Rosado.  NO SURPRISE.  Can’t be disappointed.  Dude is too nice.

Steven picks…Deandre Brackensick who looks just so overwhelmed with emotion and grateful that

And America, your top 13 are…

  1. Phillip Phillips – my pick & prediction
  2. Hollie Cavanagh – my pick & prediction
  3. Jessica Sanchez – my pick & prediction
  4. Joshua Leddet – my pick & prediction
  5. Heejun Han – my prediction – NOT my pick
  6. Shannon Magrane – my prediction – NOT my pick
  7. Skylar Laine – my pick & my prediction
  8. Elise Testone – my pick & my prediction
  9. Colton Dixon – my pick & my prediction
  10. Jermaine Jones – a surprise to everyone (sorry Lisa & James!)
  11. Erica Van Pelt – my pick & my prediction
  12. Jeremy Rosado – neither my pick nor my prediction
  13. Deandre Brackensick – my pick & my prediction

So I feel pretty good about this group.  I picked 11 out of the top 13, and only 4 are folks I would rather not have seen in the finals.  I can deal with Shannon and can learn to like Jeremy, but I think that both Heejun and Jermaine took slots that could have gone to a lot stronger folks.

Farewell to six women:

  • Jen Hirsch, whose performance of Georgia On My Mind during Hollywood Week was astoundingly good, but who didn’t bring it during the live shows
  • Hallie Day, who was so positioned as a front-runner that her not-so-perfect performance and body that made her look like a giant next to Skylar Laine and Jessica Sanchez just did her in
  • Brielle Von Hugel, who might have been able to triumph over her horrific mother had she not chosen to butcher one of the most frequently played and loved songs in the world right now
  • Baylie Brown, who was a sweetheart of epic proportions and had such a great personality that I hope she turns up somewhere
  • Chelsea Sorrell, who had big boobies (sorry, that’s all I am taking away)
  • Hayley Johnson, who should try to erase this whole experience from her memory and never try to sing again

And farewell to six men:

  • Aaron Marcellus, who was definitely a little cheesy and not memorable enough, but no question should be taking the place of Heejun Han and is also just the latest victim of ‘cism.
  • Chase Likens, who not only looked like Brendan Fraser, but who also had great stage presence and a better voice than they gave him credit for.  Chase could easily have appealed to Shannon’s fan base.
  • Reed Grimm, who was never going to win the competition and was a good musician, but WAY too freaky and not as unique as everyone said he was.  To me, Reed was Taylor + Casey on speed.
  • Creighton Fraker, whose true colors may have been a bit too much for the first time America got to see him but really whose performance just wasn’t that great, unfortunately.
  • White Chocolate.  Please come out of the closet.  Don’t put your wife through this.
  • Eben Franckewitz, who is luckily too young to realize how bad he actually was, and who inexplicably was the contestant Jimmy Iovine used as his opportunity to make the most obviously planted comment of the night…

During Jimmy’s comments about Eben, he said that Eben just isn’t ready and that he would like him to come back, but gosh darnit, he can’t.  It’s against the rules.  “The producers have got to change the rules,” Jimmy says.  Well, Uncle Nigel would never let that comment through if he weren’t planning to change the rules next season.

So does that mean that next season we’ll see former top 24 contestants allowed to audition again among new auditionees?  Or does it mean that there is going to be an American Idols: All-Star-Ejectees edition?  Hmm…  Either could be interesting and probably help with the ratings.

But for now, I am happy to say that I think this is the best top 12/13 I can remember and I am excited for this season.

And I am excited about next week.  Not only are they singing the songs of Stevie Wonder and Whitney Houston, but Mary J will be performing.  At least we know all the songs will be good songs.

Would love to hear what you think.

Wertheim out.

  1. Shani
    March 1, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    I agree about EVERYTHING! How sad is it that I was like, “who is White Chocolate”…until I read your comment about coming out of the closet and saving his wife grief ;-). This was hilarious. Great fun to read. And I over-agree that they wasted a wild card trial on Brielle. I was sick of her long ago when her momma had opinions during the group sing.

    • Michael Wertheim
      March 8, 2012 at 12:49 am

      Thanks so much! This is a great season so far, isn’t it?

  2. August 8, 2014 at 1:01 am

    When they do, then you are advised to consult a medical doctor given that pain may just be a symptom of
    a far more severe injury or condition. You will learn about the organ’s job or function, as well as some interesting facts.
    Why do you need to work out to help ease that nagging pain in your lower spine.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

