Home > American Idol, Recaps, Television > American Idol Recap – Top 9 Perform Songs By Their Idols – and Trios!

American Idol Recap – Top 9 Perform Songs By Their Idols – and Trios!

Our Idols take on their idols tonight AND we have weird medleys performed in trios of contestants, for the first time.  Thank goodness the producers wised up this week and just gave the awful Tommy Hilfiger one segment at the beginning.  Watching him talk is truly painful.  Stevie Nicks is the guest mentor this week.

Colton – “Everything” by Life House
Jimmy and Stevie are in on Colton all the way, as he sings his “favorite worship song”.  Rick Santorum is also with Colton all the way.  And if you like Colton, you liked his performance.  Steven says he is “a dream come true” for an Idol judge.  Jennifer was really moved.  Randy thinks that performance was unbelievable.  And I am sure that the Idol producers see big revenues from the burgeoning Christian music star.  I apologize for not being able to put my feelings aside.  Just can’t look at him objectively.

Skylar – “Gunpowder and Lead” by Miranda Lambert
Skylar finally brought back the spunk, which was great to see, though I don’t think the song showed off her voice as much as it could.  I just feel like she is more talented than the songs she’s singing.  Steven saw a lot of Galveston in that.  Randy praised her range.  Skylar might make me like country music.

Colton, Elise, & Phillip – Fleetwood Mac Medley
Nothing funnier than watching Phillip Phillips sing backup.  He looks so supremely uncomfortable.  But then he steals all of the energy away from the trio when he breaks into his lead vocal.  And Elise looked good.

HeeJun – “A Song For You” by Donnie Hathaway
Well, he got schooled by the entire Idol production team and turned serious this week.  I can’t say I enjoyed his performance nearly as much as Jimmy & Stevie or the judges did, especially since this is one of my favorite songs of all time and my man Elliot Yamin just killed it in season five.  But it was a big step up vocally for HeeJun.  Jennifer prattled on about how “you don’t make it to this point in the competition by mistake.  Really, Jennifer?  Really?  May I offer you some counterarguments?  Let’s try Sanjaya Malakar, John Stevens, Paul McDonald, Aaron Kelly, Katie Stevens, Haley Scarnato, Kevin Covais, and Scott Savol.

Hollie – “Jesus Take The Wheel” by Carrie Underwood
Confession time – I became obsessed with this song a few years ago.  Made me a Carrie Underwood fan.  Risky choice by Hollie.  Stevie Nicks schooled Hollie about bringing real emotion to the song.  Exactly what Hollie needed to hear.  But I don’t think it helped much.  Hollie – you are no Carrie Underwood.  Your performance of that song just exposed that more clearly.  I think Hollie is unraveling week to week.  Randy agreed with me, Jennifer inexplicably thought it was one of Hollie’s best.

AND NOW WE BREAK FOR SOME BRACKENSICKNESS…

DeAndre – “Sometimes I Cry” by Eric Benet
DeAndre’s performance tonight was dedicated to my friends, the Kestons, who are expecting a baby any minute now.  Lisa and James – he sang directly to you.  I actually enjoyed the first 20 seconds of it, then tuned out as soon as the falsetto craziness took over.  The judges loved him, and I fear that the Brackensickness may continue.

Jessica – “Beautiful Nightmare” by Beyonce
I think Jessica earned her front-runner status tonight by not doing a Beyonce imitation and slowing down this song into a ballad.  Hate to sound cliche, but she “made it her own.”  Steven thought it was “delicious”.  I liked her use of disembodied red doors.  I am going to ignore that she said her alter ego is “Bebe Chez”.

Deandre, HeeJun, & Joshua – Michael Jackson Medley
What sounded horrible when announced turned out to be not so bad, largely saved by Joshua.

Phillip – Steel Ravens by Johnny Lang
Stevie thinks Phillip is going to be very famous because he has a “magic you just can’t deny.”  “And last but not least,” Stevie continues, “he’s gorgeous.”  Thank you for verbalizing it for me, Stevie.  The gorgeous thing was simple enough to say, but I was looking for the word “magic” earlier, I think.  Not even my favorite Phillip performance of all time, but there is just something magical and riveting about this guy.  I’m tired of all the Dave Matthews comparisons.  Dave has none of Phillip’s magnetism.  Steven says that he still thinks there is someone inside of Phillip trying to climb out.  Also well said.

Joshua – “Without You” by Mariah Carey (actually by Harry Nilsson)
MANTASIA IS BACK!!!  Best Joshua performance in weeks.  He just killed it.  Randy thought it was flawless and brilliant.  Jennifer thinks Joshua is a phenom and an angel from heaven.  He’s not going to win the competition and he clearly knows it.  But this guy is a true, true talent.

Hollie, Skylar, and Jessica – Madonna Medley
Enjoyable.  Probably helped buoy both Hollie and Skylar a little.  Despite the voice on Jessica, Skylar just stole this one for me.

Elise – “Whole Lotta Love” by Led Zeppelin
That’s right, Idol producers.  It’s about time you gave Elise the pimp slot again.  You have buried her in ignominious place each week and made her the underdog.  It’s about time you positioned her to get the respect she deserves.  Jimmy said Elise came in and murdered it.  Stevie said she shouldn’t change one thing and that she would hire Elise in a second.  GREAT song choice.  Totally different from everything she has done before and I think should finally win her some new fans.

My Ranking of Tonight’s Performances

  1. Elise
  2. Phillip
  3. Joshua
  4. Jessica
  5. Skylar
  6. Colton, Elise, & Phillip
  7. Colton
  8. Hollie, Skylar, & Jessica
  9. HeeJun
  10. Hollie
  11. DeAndre, HeeJun, & Joshua
  12. DeAndre

Who’s Going Home?

Let’s break it down again…

  • Phillip, Jessica, and Colton are undoubtedly safe.  I am going to add Skylar to this mix of folks since she is solid every week, charismatic, and will deservedly have the country vote + some.
  • Elise will almost certainly escape the bottom three this week and if not, will not be the bottom vote-getter.
  • I would like to guarantee Joshua safety this week because he most definitely deserves it.  But Idol’s weird advising to all of their contestants not to come out of the closet handicaps people like Joshua from feeling fully authentic and connecting with the audience.  Still, I think he will be safe as well.
  • So that leaves a pretty obvious bottom three of HeeJun, Hollie, and DeAndre, which would also be a very sensical bottom three.  I think HeeJun annoyed some people last week and this week probably alienated those who liked his schtick.  Hollie just appears more and more to be a killer voice but not a natural performer.  And DeAndre, well, I’m not sure who is still voting for DeAndre.
  • I truly think that any of these three could end up going home, but my gut is telling me that this may be the week when the Brackensickness comes to a stop.

For those of you who dare say you enjoyed HeeJun’s performance, let me point you toward Elliot Yamin’s version of “A Song For You” in Season 5 (which he tops on his first album).  Elliot is not only such a talented musician, but also a mensch of epic proportions – something HeeJun could learn from.  Performance starts at 2:29:

Wertheim out.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

