Home > American Idol, Recaps, Television > American Idol Recap – Top 6 Performances – Songs of Queen and…Other Songs

American Idol Recap – Top 6 Performances – Songs of Queen and…Other Songs

Roger Taylor & Brian May join the top 6 who kick off the show with a Queen Medley of Fat Bottom Girls – Another One Bites the Dust – We Will Rock You – We Are The Champions.  Aren’t medleys usually reserved for results shows?  And what are the top 6 going to sing for their solos?  It wasn’t bad.  I have a feeling this week is going to belong to Phillip & Elise.  I don’t really see the rest of these guys shining.  But who knows.

It’s Queen week.  Which means the contestants each sing one song by Queen and one other song of no particular perceptible theme.

Jessica – “Bohemian Rhapsody”
Is Idol filming Jessica in Black and White or is it just my TV?  Ah, yes.  Just the beginning in black & white.  Which was not as weird as their projecting Jessica’s head three times on the screen in back of her.  I thought it started off really strong, but when it picked up, she just became so-so.  Steven says rock isn’t Jessica’s forte.  JLo agreed with me.  Randy loved it because “she did no runs.”  I think she’d better have a better trick up her sleeve for her next performance.

Skylar – “The Show Must Go On”
I thought Skylar was terrific.  Not the song I would ever expect to hear from her, nor did it seem very Skylar, but she sounded great and has proven repeatedly that she can really sing, no matter what the song.  Randy thinks it was one of her best performances to date.  He also added “this girl right here, she’s got to have it.”  Oh, Randy, haven’t you learned yet that catchphrases should develop organically and not be foisted on us?

Joshua – “Crazy Little Thing Called Love”
Another terrific performance.  This guy really reminds me more of Fantasia every week.

Elise – “I Want It All”
I knew she would be good.  She seemed confident, comfortable, and having fun.  The judges loved it and said it was one of Elise’s best performances to date.  She agrees that the rock stuff is really her wheelhouse.

Phillip – “Fat Bottom Girls”
Ah, so they CAN do songs from the medley.  The second they sang this one in the medley, I thought “what a waste, this is so perfect for Phillip.”  And he delivered a solid-as-ever performance.  JLo says the most ridiculous “I feel like we get different flavors each week,” just as I was about to say that every song he sings does somehow seem the same.  I do still love him, but at this point his inevitability is starting to get on my nerves.

Hollie – “Save Me”
Interesting that they are giving Hollie the pimp spot.  Could she really be that good this week?  Nah.  Not bad, but nothing special.  And what’s with the pantsuit?  Steven thinks she did “a really good job.”  JLo wants to see her enjoy it more.  Randy thinks it was a good performance, but that she needs to take more chances and create a moment.

Jessica – “Dance With My Father” by Luther Vandross
JLo says it is the best she has heard that song sung.  I mean, that’s just not true.  She sounded good, but really nothing special.

Skylar – “Tattoos On This Town” by Jason Aldean
I thought this was way more in her wheelhouse.  The judges didn’t like it as much.

Joshua – “Ready For Love” by India.Arie
Awesome.  So nice to see a very different, toned down performance from Joshua.  He was controlled, confident, and captivating.  I’m so glad that someone with this much talent has made it this far.  Standing ovation from the judges.

Elise – “Bold As Love” by Jimi Hendrix
Well, the producers are doing Elise no favors.  While all of the other contestants had pre-song packages that were comprised of tongue-in-cheek ribbing from their fellow contestants, Elise’s package made it seem like no one actually likes her.  Steven says she needs to pick songs that people recognize (I agree).  JLo thinks she slayed it (I don’t).  Randy says it wasn’t the right song for this point in the competition (I agree).

Phillip – “The Stone” by Dave Matthews
Well, he finally did a Dave Matthews song.  Not my favorite Dave Matthews song and I suspect not going to win him new fans.  As JLo said – too obscure and too artsy.  Randy disagrees and goes back on his “Phillip is an artist” rant, which I must agree with Michael Slezak, means to Randy that you are “white, male, and a rocker.”  Phillip is apologetically himself all the time, which is artistic.  But he is also the same most of the time.  I also would have liked to have heard him sing this song even slightly different than Dave Matthews sings it.

Hollie – “The Climb” by Miley Cyrus
I think this song was a wise choice by Hollie.  It should make her seem younger.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t.  Where Miley sounds carefree singing it, Hollie just felt so controlled.  It was solid, but too contained.  The judges give her a (rather inexplicable) standing o.  I suspect the producers have insisted on giving Hollie another week of seeming triumph in case she ends up winning the whole thing so they don’t have to say she won despite being mediocre every week.

My Ranking of Tonight’s Performances

  1. Joshua – “Ready For Love”
  2. Joshua – “Crazy Little Thing Called Love”
  3. Elise – “I Want It All”
  4. Skylar – “Tattoos On This Town”
  5. Skylar – “The Show Must Go On”
  6. Phillip – “Fat Bottom Girls”
  7. Jessica – “Dance With My Father”
  8. Hollie – “The Climb”
  9. Phillip – “The Stone”
  10. Jessica – “Bohemian Rhapsody”
  11. Hollie – “Save Me”
  12. Elise – “Bold As Love”

Who’s Going Home

Once again, anything can happen.  But I’m putting my money on Elise going home tomorrow night.  Here’s how I’m thinking about this:

  • I think Skylar and Phillip will definitely not be in the bottom three –  Phillip especially, since the judges said over and over that they are “worried about him,” which will most certainly send teenage girls all over the country calling in obsessively for him.
  • Joshua is most deserving of safety this week, but could be displaced from safety by a resurgent Hollie.
  • Jessica’s bottom finish two weeks ago should keep fans voting enough to safe her from elimination this week, but her lack of a moment tonight will likely cost her immunity from a bottom three finish.
  • So your bottom three will be either Elise, Jessica, and Hollie or Elise, Jessica, and Joshua.

It is definitely not outside the realm of crazy that Jessica would be sent packing tomorrow night, but I have a strong feeling that Elise has used up her nine lives.  She didn’t offer anything particularly new tonight, and her pre-performance package did her no favors.  While I am sad to see Hollie outlast her, I think it is time for Elise to go.

In general, I have to say, I’m a little bored with Idol now.  Not quite sure why.  Perhaps because they have all been so solid (minus Hollie) for so long that there don’t seem to be a lot of surprises left or much growth to see from week-to-week?  Perhaps it’s because folks who swept me away early, like Elise, Jessica, and Phillip haven’t shined as much in recent weeks?  Or maybe it was just not an exciting week.

Any way you look at it, it’s still a way better show than The Voice.

Wertheim out.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

