Home > American Idol, Recaps, Television > American Idol Recap – Top 3 Performances

American Idol Recap – Top 3 Performances

My new DVR didn’t record American Idol tonight, so I’m watching the videos online and just recapping the performances.  Here we go…

Judges’ Choice songs are up first.

Joshua – “I’d Rather Go Blind” by Etta James – Randy’s Pick
I just love how Joshua has become more and more confident from week to week.  I was worried that he was going to go the way of Jacob Lusk from last season.  But Joshua has grown every week, and the fact that he didn’t come out of the gate with ridiculous confidence in the way Jessica did has given him an arc that I think plays well with America.  This performance was a tour de force.  Mad talent on Mantasia.

Jessica – “My All” by Mariah Carey – Jennifer’s Pick
Thank goodness Jessica is dressed classy once more.  I have to say, Jennifer was cruel to give her this song.  Jessica can generally sing anything, but hearing her sing this one made me realize that this may actually be one of Mariah’s most difficult songs to sing.  And let us not forget, every Mariah song is difficult to sing.  Unfortunately, Jessica chose to do a note-for-note rendition of the song and I think she paled in comparison.  Randy pretended this wasn’t so.  JLo said she did it in her own way (um…no).  Steven said something or other.  Not the greatest, but then again, a fairly impossible song to sing and she did it well.

Phillip – “Beggin” by Madcon – Steven’s Pick
Well first of all, PhilPhil actually looked healthy this week, which is a huge improvement over most of the season.  That + great song choice (which I actually did not know) made for a stellar performance.  Thank you PhilPhil for proving you deserve to be at the end of this competition.  And boy, you are good looking.

Contestants’ choices:

Joshua – “Imagine” by John Lennon
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.  Is it acceptable for me to say that I liked David Archuletta’s version better?

Jessica – “I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing” by Aerosmith
Ballsy.  First Mariah, then Steven Tyler!  Another classy outfit.  And another pale imitation of the original.  What’s up with you this week, Jessica?  You are better than this.  Truly.

PhilPhil – “Disease” by Matchbox 20
Thank you PhilPhil for winning me over again.  I had sadly abandoned you in anger about your inevitability and your having not shined in weeks and weeks and weeks.  But tonight you are engrossing and sexy and a star once again.  The judges weren’t bowled over.  Doesn’t matter.  America is.  But they were right.  It’s something he could do in his sleep.

Jimmy’s choices:

Joshua – “No More Drama” by MARY J BLIGE!!!
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!  Thank you Jimmy for choosing not only an amazing song, but also a song that shows America what Joshua can do with a contemporary song.  Hollie and Shannon Magrane were going nuts in the audience.  I loveses you, Mantasia.

Jessica – “I’ll Be There” by The Jackson Five
Nice to see Jessica move around again.  The last 5 or 6 performances, she had been stapled to the ground.  Even nicer to see her shine again – in my opinion, for the first time tonight.  Showed us once again how strong her vocals are.

PhilPhil – “We’ve Got Tonight” by Bob Seger
Someone needs to teach Phillip not to wince when he sings high notes.  It took me a long time to learn too, PhilPhil.  I’m sure you can do it in time.  Kind of beautiful in places.  I’m not sure I would agree with Randy that it was his best performance ever, but I enjoyed it.  Lots of shots of the rest of the top 13/12 in the audience during this performance.  Erika has thankfully returned to her bleach-blonde look, and Elise unfortunately continues to bring the stank-face.

My Ranking of Tonight’s Performances:

  1. Joshua – “I’d Rather Go Blind”
  2. Joshua – “No More Drama”
  3. PhilPhil – “Beggin”
  4. Jessica – “I’ll Be There”
  5. PhilPhil – “We’ve Got Tonight”
  6. PhilPhil – “Disease”
  7. Jessica – “My All”
  8. Jessica – “I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing”
  9. Joshua – “Imagine”

Who Will Be Joining Phillip Phillips in the Finale?

I have to put my money on Joshua.  I think he clearly won the night, and I believe that America is behind him.  If we’re just going on voice, Joshua should be joined by Jessica.  But PhilPhil’s inevitability aside, Jessica had possibly her most milquetoast evenings of the competition.  She had so many moments during the season and she had three chances tonight.  Couldn’t she have used one of them with something comparable to last week’s “And I Am Telling You”?  As far as I’m concerned, she didn’t earn her way through to the finale.

Truth is, all three of these folks deserve to be where they are and would be deserving finalists.  And I wouldn’t be completely shocked if it didn’t end up being Joshua-Phillip in the end.  But I am fairly confident that this is what it will come down to.  And when I think about what result tomorrow might make me feel like someone was robbed of a shot at the final, I can only imagine that being a case where Joshua does not advance.  I’m going to vote for the first time this season, and all of my votes tonight are going to Mantasia.

Wertheim out.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

